Do You Know Your Level of Happiness?

IMG_7386
Level of Happiness? Si, Señor!

I was surprised at this week’s assignment in one of my classes. I was asked to complete the level of happiness in my life test. I never felt the need to question myself about how happy I am. I have to say that I am very pleased with the results, even if they are not very close to five (scale goes 1 to 5), I know the reason indeed. Knowing the cause for the scores makes me feel even more confident that I was before.

I know which questions gave me the lowest score, but those were related to my current job. I know for a fact that, as a student, I have to find a job that best matches my future career, but that does not mean that I should be completely satisfied with my current working condition. In fact, I am glad I am not 100% satisfied because this impulses me to reach forward and further. I know that I am taking this test in two years, and I am sure my score will be decimals away from scoring five if not the whole number itself.

Nowadays with all the medical, technological, and industry advances we get to live a life that people over 100 years ago could not even imagine. As discussed in The Mistery of Happiness, people 200 years ago lived knowing that their only chance to be happy was to die and go to heaven. For them eating two meals a day was being lucky and owning a change of clothes was being blessed (Stossel). Now this statement takes me back to my personal feeling of my happiness, and if I compare my standards of happiness with the norms of people 200 years ago, as I just mentioned above, I can immediately palpate the difference in ideas. And I can conclude that the population of that time just wanted to survive. The people from 200 years ago wanted to make it to the next day, to earn their ticket to heaven, because suffering was their way to clean out sin (Stossel).

According to Ed and Carol Diener (1996), it is possible to adjust our goals to be slightly above reality. Hence, we would feel happiness and satisfaction with our lives. Understanding this is key to being more pleased with our lives’ achievements. Unlike people suffering from Williams Syndrome, who are not capable of making this differentiation, we can make a change towards happiness. A person suffering from Williams Syndrome not only has to keep up with others who possess no disability, they are sensitive to high pitch noises but they are also a joy to be around, and that is why this syndrome is called A Beautiful Mystery (A Beautiful Mystery, 2004).

Take the happiness test here

References

A Beautiful Mystery (Williams Syndrome) – 60 Minutes Australia 2004. (2004). Retrieved
February 01, 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PYMoLmFZ9zE

Peterson, C. (2006). A primer in positive psychology. p. 73, Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Stossel, J. (n.d.). The Mystery of Happiness part 1. Retrieved February 01, 2016, from

Stossel, J. (n.d.). The Mystery of Happiness part 2. Retrieved February 01, 2016, from

Stossel, J. (n.d.). The Mystery of Happiness part 3. Retrieved February 01, 2016, from

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Yuntse says:

    Thank you for your post. I didn’t know about the test or the Williams’ Syndrome. Really inspirational 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your reply, I would try my best to keep you up to date!

      Like

Leave a Reply

